Simple Guide to Releasing

Problems, requests or comments regarding forums or the main site go here.
loverboy

Simple Guide to Releasing

Post by loverboy »   0 likes

starfish21 has raised the issue of a simple guide to releasing material here at FLM to encourage more members to have a go & make the process less daunting. I'm no expert & will be bound to miss something out so further input will be much appreciated. Bearing in mind I consider myself 'clumsy' with computers & PC technology I'm attempting to make this guide as simple as possible & not assume the reader is any more knowledgeable than I was.

Before You Start

You need to have the eMule client installed with, if nothing else, a basic knowledge of how it works. The standard client will work perfectly well if configured correctly which involves little change from the default settings. Many here (myself included) use 'releaser mod' versions which are not magic but generally allow you to divert greater upload to those allocated as 'friends'. Generally, they will also allow more 'friend slots' than the standard client & have a 'Powershare' facility to further prioritise files.

You need to be connectable......that means the necessary ports for eMule traffic need to be open. Any firewall on your PC needs to have an exception made for eMule & if using a router 'Port Forwarding' needs to be carried out. There are plenty of specific guides for individual routers available on the internet. eMule has a 'Test Ports' facility under Options/Connection to check all is well............I'd also take the opportunity of changing from the default ports if using them..........some ISP's will throttle or even sometimes block these.